First up: Glazed Pork Chops

I suppose it’s time to take my love of food and my passion for writing to the next level, so today I officially become an amateur food blogger. Before I share the first recipe with you, I think some introductions are in order. I’m a senior journalism student in the Scripps School of Journalism at Ohio University. I have specializations in art, english and african-american studies and a certificate in sexual assault prevention. I have my wandering mind to thank for the diverse topics I take interest in.

When you’ve got a mind that won’t turn off, such as my own, you’ve got to find serenity somewhere. The art of cooking absolutely fascinates me. You can take the most simplistic ingredients that stand alone as almost nothing, combine them and make something absolutely divine. When I was young I rarely watched the process of how dinner was made, it was simply brought to me already complete. Now, I not only have the opportunity to watch the process, but to be the process.

Enough sentiment, lets get cooking. Today’s recipe is glazed pork chops with a side of homemade mashed potatoes and pork gravy. The recipe comes from my Pinterest board as almost all of them will. The original recipe comes from budgetbytes.com, a blog plump with affordable recipes. I’ll admit, I had my reservations about the quality of the recipe with the cost at a mere $1.63 per pork chop serving and the total time under 30 minutes. photo 4

If you intend to have mashed potatoes with this recipe, have them peeled, diced and boiling as this cooks. (I was feeding four and used approx. 8 full sized brown potatoes.)

Here’s what you’ll need:  (Beth so graciously broke down the cost per ingredient)

4 thick cut pork chops (bone-in or boneless) $5.97
¼ cup brown sugar $0.12
½ tsp cayenne powder $0.05
½ tsp garlic powder $0.05
½ tsp paprika $0.05
½ tsp salt $0.05
½ tsp black pepper $0.05

You can find the complete recipe here.

The recipe is incredibly simple, i’m confident even my boyfriend could pull this off.

Here are some tips from me on this one:

Paprika: I didn’t measure mine, I know I added more than 1/2 a teaspoon. I love spice and paprika gives the recipe an extra kick. I threw in roughly 1-1 1/2 teaspoons.

Salt and Pepper: I never measure salt and pepper. I usually use the recipe measurements only as suggestions and I edit accordingly.

Olive Oil: I did use the suggested amount of olive oil, however I added approximately a tablespoon of butter also.

Cook Time: The recipe suggests to cook the chops for five minutes over medium/high heat. My definition of medium/high heat was seven. However, that created a chop that was a little too done for my taste so I would suggest sticking with six or simply taking them off a minute early.

Next up: Gravy.

I have yet to conquer gravy without the help of my dad. So, despite his recent foot surgery only a day before I tackled this recipe, he hobbled into the kitchen to help.

You’ll need:

Milk (approx. 1/2 cup., use as needed)

Flour (approx. 1/4 cup, use as needed)

Salt/Pepper (add to taste)

Grease from the pork chops

You may not need all of the grease so I suggest dumping half of it into a bowl. First, add flour to the hot grease. You absolutely have to let your flour scorch before adding milk. Once your flour has turned brown, pour in milk. Stir your milk/flour combination constantly over low/medium heat, breaking up the scorched flour as you stir. If the consistency doesn’t seem right, add additional grease. Now, you simply stir until the milk has condensed, you’ll know when the substance no longer looks like a pan of milk but smooth gravy. Add salt/pepper as you desire.

Last but not least: mashed potatoes.

Hopefully at this point you’ve got peeled and boiled potatoes ready. If not, you can look forward to cold chops and hot potatoes.

What you’ll need:

Milk

Butter (1/2 stick)

Salt/Pepper

Add butter to the boiled potatoes and mix on low speed for 30 seconds. Add milk as needed (If you like thick mashed potatoes you won’t need much.) Once you’ve reached the desired consistency add salt/pepper as you’d like.

This recipe feeds four, however it doesn’t leave any allowance for seconds. Next time I make these glazed chops I won’t hesitate to double the recipe.

photo 1

2 thoughts on “First up: Glazed Pork Chops

Leave a Reply

